Tags

, , , , ,

Old boat with paddles on Herastrau Lake

Click To Enlarge: Old boat with paddles on Herastrau Lake 2015

When I first started photography I didn’t pay much attention to colors. I was snapping away at things I found to be interesting and wanted grab a slice of time and make a nice memory out it and that’s fine, I enjoyed it, I loved it but it wasn’t enough.

Color – the quality of an object or substance with respect to light reflected by the object, usually determined visually by measurement of hue, saturation, and brightness of the reflected light; saturation or chroma; hue.

Color may tell you a lot about a photograph. Brighter colors can induce a happy feeling while darker colors can make you feel gloomy. You may also know that specific colors remind us of different emotions. For example, what does the color blue remind you of? What about red?

Warm colors like yellow, orange, red, and pink, can make a picture look brighter. Yellow is a more joyful color while red is a color that may remind us of anger. However, the way a photograph feels depends on how you use those colors.

When I began wanting to improve my photography I realized color was a very important aspect which I failed to appreciate both in life and in my photos. I was taking colors for granted because they were always there, they weren’t a memory or a slice of time for me. I was somewhat ignorant and didn’t realize how lucky I am to be able to see and experience color and what an important part of life and photography color is.

I recently saw this video by Valspar Paint which highlights just how awe-inspiring color really is. In it, they give color blindness-correcting glasses made by EnChroma to color blind people and allow them, for the first time ever, to experience color. One woman is taken aback by various shades of pink painted on the wall, another man by his child’s colorful drawings. It’s an emotional video, to be sure, and it makes one stop and think: Does color matter more than we might think? Unlike blindness or deafness, someone who is colorblind has not lost total use of a sense — they can still see — but the tear-jerking reactions make clear that the ability to see color might be more important than we usually give it credit.

Do you take color for granted?

Other articles you might enjoy:

10 Most Frustrating Situations For An Enthusiast Photographer

Why ‘Great Photo’ Comments Are So BAD For Your Photography

Photography is NOT about GEAR

 

 

