Tags

, , , , , , , ,

unirii bucuresti

Now this has been bugging me for some time now.

I started taking snapshots with my phone camera. It was a VGA camera (640×480 resolution) and with the risk of sounding like a grandpa, back then it was a big deal to take pictures with a phone.The sky is what I liked the most, the blue hues, the orange sunset hues, it was my first contact with photography.

Then I graduated to a point and shoot. I loved the image quality, 6 megapixels it was wow.  I always carried it with me, school, on my way to work, on my way back from work, going out, vacation, it was small and compact and so easy to carry around. I took tens of thousands of pictures with it.

Then came my first DSLR. I loved the image quality, it was amazing, 12 megapixels crop sensor DSLR, amaziiing! It was bigger though, bulkier and needed a big black bag to be carried around so I often times turned to my old trusty point and shoot to help me out when I went out and didn’t want to carry a big back with me.

After a couple of years I become really passionate about photography and learn about composition, camera settings, camera gear, lenses, chasing the light and post processing, so I thought it only natural to make every passionate photographer’s dream come true, graduate to FULL FRAME goodness.

What mattered most about my decision to go up to full frame was the fact that I noticed I might not get a second chance to be in the same place and so that it’s very important to capture that unique moment as best as technically possible.

So I gathered all my savings, did a ton of research waited impatiently for Black Friday and was incredibly lucky to finally get that full frame dreamy goodness. I loved the image quality, it was amazing, 20 megapixels full frame sensor DSLR, amaziiing! Again bigger, again bulkier. It felt to me like the boost in image quality was the same as jumping from a point and shoot to a DSLR, incredible.

So here’s the problem: truth is that when I made the jump to full frame I thought that every picture I would take would be magical and/ or incredibly beautiful and meaningful. Man was I wrong. So now I feel guilty I have this beast of a camera and 2 great lenses but I feel like I’m not using them at their full potential. Also my technical knowledge of using a DLSR improved a lot, I would say I mastered all technical aspects. I not only look for interesting light but also am very precise about composition and what would constitute a good picture, basically I don’t snap away at everything, I take my time, visualize, compose, approach different angles.

The most important lesson I learned along my 10 year photographic journey is that picture quality and sharpness aren’t the most important things that make a good photograph. It’s the light, the moment, the composition, the subject, the emotion, the landscape, the feeling.

So that’s why I’m thinking of downgrading back to a crop sensor and selling my full frame camera. I’m hoping maybe someone else in the world has had these thoughts and has some advice.

What would you do? Would you downgrade from a full frame camera to a crop sensor camera?

 

