Tags

, ,

No, no, not another Prometheus review but yes, I have heard the phrase there as part of an excerpt from the movie Lawrence of Arabia (1962). I immediately liked it because I think that’s one of the things that separates the mediocre from the elites.

I’m sure everybody has a hard time in life with school, work, relationships, money etc., but I believe that you have noticed that people which succeed in what they do, make it look like it’s easy. But in fact, it is not.
Mind you I am not talking about extraordinary or gifted people here, I am just referring to the average Joe with a normal IQ and normal psychical capabilities.

Life’s though on everybody, it’s though when you are young and it gets even tougher as you grow up but some people seem to have it easy. It is my theory that nobody has it easy but that some people have the capability to overcome hardship and not only that, but also the capability “not minding that it hurts”. I would go so far as saying that not minding that it hurts is one important ability that allows one to easily and successfully overcome hardship.

So next time when life gets tough and trust me, it will, remember The trick . . . is not minding that it hurts.

[Lawrence has just extinguished a match between his thumb and forefinger. William Potter surreptitiously attempts the same]

William Potter: Ooh! It damn well ‘urts!
T.E. Lawrence: Certainly it hurts.

Officer: What’s the trick then?
T.E. Lawrence: The trick, William Potter, is not minding that it hurts.

